“Space” by Ebony D. Miles

20190331_180721I allowed you to enter through my heart this time, thinking things just might be different this go ‘round.
You entered through each receiving chamber while breaking down every layer I built with straw.
You flowed freely through my veins, calmly as a stream that lead through my entire body straight to my mind.
You conquered every wave of me, effortlessly, like a captain sailing a ship in well-known waters,
Knowing exactly where to turn, exactly where to slow down, and exactly where to land.
“I love you,” you’d say, with confidence I had never imagined I could fathom.
The words would enter my ear canal, straight to my heart, where each time you say it, the phrase stamps to it like it would a passport,
To remind me of the places you send me, the promises you make, my soul and breath you take.
The last time you said this phrase was followed by the conjunction, “But”.
“But” held so much weight, my body started to shake, not knowing what would come next.
“I need space.”
Space?
Space to do what?
“Just space to get my mind together.”
Because of the love I have for you, I grant your wish, while I begin to rebuild the layers of my heart no longer with straw, now with bricks.

 

~The Vision Blogger~

Leave a comment